casa dolce casa: home is where the heart is.

casaW

casa dolce casa: I found this old photo that really resonated with me because it bears some resemblance to the 1850s farm house I grew up in outside of Chicago, Illinois, in a small rural town called Plato Center. The house was built with horsehair and lathe plaster with chicken wire, wooden floor planks and square nails. I don’t have a historic image of the old house, but here below is the street view of the approach to the farm, circa 1850s. Before our old house was built, there was a log cabin on the site. There is also evidence of American Indians living on the property. I remember finding arrowheads with my father.

My great grandfather settled his homestead and farm on the road, later to be named after our family — Muirhead Road. The street wasn’t even paved until the 1970s when I was a child. All this is to say that the image I found above at a flea market gave me some nostalgia. Although I am not certain where the image originates from, if you look closely, it seems there is a classical statue in front of the house, just to the right of the door on the left. I find this possibility a little odd, even if the photo may be from Italy. It must be a 3-family home in the countryside.

Muirhead Road, Plato Center, IL
Before it was named Muirhead Road, Plato Center, IL (circa 1850

The found image turned into a brooch/pendant made in sterling silver with resin over the photograph. It was, after all, someone’s home sweet home. On the back side is a classic quote from Pliny the Elder (A.D. 23 -79): La casa è dove si trova il cuore (home is where the heart is). Incidentally, he also once said, In vino veritas (see cufflinks). See more pieces related to the home series.

DSC07247bw

DSC07214w

Leave a Reply

